Sleep Study #4   5 comments

For those that aren’t aware already, I have a condition known as sleep apnea. Before I get into the fun, I’ll give a little info on what that is:

Basically, it means that I stop breathing in my sleep & one of the side effects is gawd awful snoring.  Which, for me, was more like gagging & choking in my sleep.  Which, was never really “sleep”, because it is a constant battle of just falling asleep & the “snore” wakes you.  It’s really your brain telling you OMG WAKE UP, YOU’RE NOT BREATHING! So, yea, you start walking around like a zombie, falling asleep in the middle of a conversation, and driving.. yea, that’s just plain scary.  There are many nasty side effects to having sleep apnea.. it can cause your blood pressure to go up, cause you to either.. gain weight, or have a very difficult time losing it, and lead to your risks of diabetes (2), and heart disease.  This is just naming a few.  The good news is, they can treat this with a device called a C-Pap.  That stands for continuous positive airway pressure. It is a machine that has a hose attached to a mask you wear when you sleep, that pushes air into your face at a prescribed level to keep your air passage open. There are other treatments as well, including a dental device, and surgery.. all of which would be discussed with you when you have your sleep study & diagnosis follow up!  For me, it was the C-Pap, and I have been using one for 4+ years now.  My how the time flies.  Now, on to the fun!

After a period of time, they like you to come in for additional sleep studies, especially if your condition seems to not improve or worsen with the c-pap, or you gain or lose a significant amount of weight.  As I’ve had my machine for 4+ years, and Steve could still hear me snoring lightly through it (although, nothing like I used to), and I’ve been feeling more tired again lately, I contacted my sleep study doctor.  They scheduled me for a study this past Friday night.  This will be the 4th time I’ve had to go through this in the past decade, give or take a year.  At least, now that this is my 4th time, I know what to expect, and I’m used to sleeping with my mask on.  It’s still not a comfortable time falling asleep, and if you’re not a “back sleeper” it can be even more difficult to fall asleep.  They ask you to stay on your back while you spend the night sleeping in their facility.  I’m not so much a “back sleeper” as I am a “tosser turner”, side, back, side, side, back.. and so on.  If I stay too long on one side or on my back, it starts to hurt, I wake up, roll over, and fall asleep.  Sometimes, I don’t even know I’ve done it.  So, staying on my back all night, did not add to my best level of sleep.. and neither did any of this…

Image

                                                                   So Many WIRES

Image

What you don’t see.. is the belt strapped around me, under my arms, & around     my waist.. which has wires pulled thru, from my legs & chest.

Image

                                                               And MORE Wires..

Image

And to complete the look.. my very own face mask that I wear every night.. only, I don’t usually include the wires.

So, I slept on & off for the next 6 hours, and they woke me up at 5am, removed the wires, had me fill out my exit interview paperwork, and left me to shower.  Yes, thank goodness, they have one.  Because.. this..

Image

                                                                      GLUE

Image

                                                       More glue..

Image

                                 Red from tape..

In that last photo.. they had taped a small microphone to my neck, to listen to any snoring.  The tech ripped off the tape, much like one would rip off a bandaid really fast.  My neck is still red.. and sticky.. and I’ve been scrubbing it, and using oil on it to break up the sticky mess.  Hopefully I get it all by tomorrow.

In the end, my night’s sleep wasn’t as bad as previous sleep studies that I’ve done.. but I think, again, that part of that is because I’m used to sleeping with a mask already.  But, it still wasn’t a “perfect” night’s sleep.  Glad I have a 3 day weekend to finish getting “un-sticky”.  Thankfully, a friend & coworker, who also is a licensed cosmetologist, was able to tell me some products to use to help me remove the junk from my hair, that seemed to work very well.  I recall it taking a LONG time & a couple of days to clear my hair before, and I’m pretty sure I got it all this morning.  Thank you so much for that!

I hope you enjoyed seeing me in all my ridiculousness, and maybe learned something too.

P.S. – I could totally do a post on how comical (or maybe it’s not really that funny) it is that the office administrator doesn’t understand how our insurance works.  Can you say.. blue in the face?  Wow..

 

 

5 responses to “Sleep Study #4

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have to have a sleep study done soon. I haven’t been to my first appointment yet, but I was just wondering what happens if I have to pee? I get up once every night to do so. I know I will be hooked up to machines, but will I need a catheter too?!

    • No, they will simply have you carry the box with all the wires with you. It’s a bit of a juggling act.. but you can get up and move once they unplug it. It’s kind of like, walking with an iv in the hospital.. only it’s not on a stand, you just carry it around.

  2. Im sending my husband for one of these studies! I cant believe you can sleep with that on, though I guess you get used to it and obviously its better than never waking up at all! This was interesting to see how all this works though I wont show him because I fear he will bail on the whole idea! Hope you are well, its been a while since Ive seen anything from you – something I am also guilty of!

    • Yea, after having had to sleep with one for hm… 4 years? ya, you get used to it. But it’s still not always easy to fall asleep, if you’re not ready to pass right out, it can be damn annoying. And I wake up with impressions in my face from it, and sometimes, the bridge of my nose is sore from the top of the mask pressing into it all night. It’s a little.. ok, a LOT awkward, when you’ve never slept with one, and you go in there, and they start hooking up all those wires, and expect you to sleep, and not in your own natural comfortable position. (I’m a side sleeper, and they want you on your back.) As for the mask, they only use that if you end up actually having apnea, and need you to come in a 2nd time to sleep with it, and see what kind of pressure you will need. There are MANY kinds of masks.. and because I’ve always been kind of a mouth breather, the full face mask was the best choice for me.

      I hope he does ok with the test.. and honestly, hope he doesn’t have to have one of these. There are other treatments out there for apnea, depending the severity of it. Good luck! Let me know how he goes..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 206 other followers

